Skip to Main Content

J-Funk - Meant To Be

J-Funk - Meant To Be
  • J-Funk - Meant To Be - Inlay
  • J-Funk - Meant To Be - Back

After nearly 3 years of writing, recording and production J-Funk's second studio album, Meant To Be is ready to be unleashed to soul music lovers worldwide. J-Funk has been heavily associated with USA independent record label Ismael Records, with the bulk of the music created in collaboration with producer Mike "Da Crow" Crowell and songwriter Ruth M. Ware aka RnB Mistress. This creative combination have produced a new sound, mixing up elements of commercial soul music and neo-soul, with the result being a well-written, well-composed, polished production of funky soul cuts.

Track Listing

  1. [4:14]
  2. [4:23]
  3. [4:08]
  4. [5:08]
  5. [4:09]
  6. [5:29]
  7. [4:56]
  8. [3:51]
  9. [4:39]
  10. [5:21]
  11. [4:43]
  12. [5:11]



J-Funk infuses catchy melodies and slick vocal and instrumental harmonies, with funky rhythms, and jazz orientated chords to create his own versatile, slick and marketable style of funky soul music. Born in Melbourne, Australia, to an English father and South African mother, Justin Stephenson was raised under the influence of a very musical family & began singing and playing piano at the age of 3. Graduating with a Bachelor of Music degree in 2001 (majoring in Jazz Vocal) in Brisbane, Justin has taken his talents to Sydney and Melbourne, notably the Australia Day celebrations at Hyde Park in Sydney in 2001, and at the Melbourne Jazz Festival in 2004. Both of these performances were in collaboration with his two aunts - Trude and Anastasia Aspeling who are accomplished vocalists in…

Read More about J-Funk

Official Website


London, UK

Similar Artists

Stevie Wonder, D

Related CDs


UPC: 885767764217